Sports Movies

I love movies. Movies are great. This post, however, is dedicated to sports movies. One of my roommates and I have been on a sports movie kick lately  (direct quote). We currently have a going list, watching sports movies we’ve already seen and expanding our horizons with new ones. It’s only fitting that I share some of my all-time favorite sports movies and quotes from these movies thus far.

1. Remember the Titans

This movie has everything I love. Football. Denzel Washington. A baby Ryan Gosling. A baby Ryan Gosling dancing. More football. An important social issue as a major storyline. And did I mention Denzel? I first saw this movie when it came out and have loved it ever since.

“I don’t scratch my head unless it itches and I don’t dance unless I hear some music. I will not be intimidated. That’s just the way it is.” – Coach Boone 

7250778_orig

2. Miracle

I’m not a huge hockey follower, but this movie was amazing for several reasons, one of them being that it’s a classic underdog story. Herb Brooks is a legend. The players are young college men that all have identical 80’s flows. And of course, the hockey scenes keep you at the edge of your seat.

“Great moments are born from great opportunity.” – Coach Brooks

Although it was a ridiculously hard decision, my favorite character was Jim Craig. He was killin’ it on and off the ice.

The real Jim Craig:

 

3. Friday Night Lights

I had watched a few episodes of Friday Night Lights the TV show before seeing the movie (the show was inspired by the movie). I happened upon the movie playing on TV while skimming channels and was instantly hooked. The show has a lot of drama, which is understandable since it’s a show. But what I really loved about the movie was that there was a lot of time on the field. Every game had me cheering on the Permian Panthers and instantly attached to the characters. I’ve cried every time I’ve watched it. I talked about it for weeks. You can ask my friends.

“Being perfect is when you can look someone in the eye and know you did not let them down.” – Coach Gaines

And just because this post has the words “Friday,” “Night,” and “Lights”…..

Okay. I’m done.

4. Invictus

Honestly, I don’t know much about rugby, but this movie was fantastic. I really enjoy movies that have a significant historical background, and with the recent passing of Nelson Mandela, Invictus well illustrated one small aspect of Mandela’s historical imprint. Not to mention, Morgan Freeman and Matt Damon are both amazing actors. I’ve watched this movie so many times and it never gets old.

“My family is very large. 42 million.” – Nelson Mandela

 

5. 42

Another great movie with a great historical background. I didn’t know much about Jackie Robinson’s story, and this was very well done. I laughed. I was angry. I cheered. I was completely enraptured. Only downside: I couldn’t understand Harrison Ford’s character (Branch Rickey) like 75% of the time.

“I don’t think it matters what I believe, only what I do.” – Jackie Robinson

And of course, unrelated to sports or movies,

 

 

Leave a Reply

