Music for Finals Week

Happy finals week ladies and gents! I’ve put together a list of my finals week essentials, ranging from my favorite classical study music, to motivational music to keep you going through a late night of studying, to celebration music for the end of finals and SUMMER.

Good luck on exams everyone!

While studying:

1. “New World Symphony” – Antonin Dvorak

One of my favorite symphonies of all time. I performed this with my orchestra at my fall concert and loved every second of it. I wish I could convey my feelings better, but as a violinist, it’s tougher than I thought. This symphony has a blend of everything, from the fast-paced beats propelling you forward to keep studying to the gorgeous underlying background themes to calm you down — it’s great for studying.

2. “Symphony No. 7” – Ludwig van Beethoven

I recently took a quiz asking which composer is my soulmate, and I got Beethoven, unsurprisingly. I love him. I love everything about him. From his insanity to his hair to his GENIUS music. If you can’t figure out which classical station to listen to while studying, I highly recommend adding Herbert von Karajan conducting all 9 of them on Spotify. Do it. You won’t regret it. Anyway, the 7th Symphony is AMAZING. Absolutely gorgeous. I’ve played this one too and can’t convey my feelings. They’re too strong. But then again, all of them are great. I’m very indecisive when it comes to my man Beethoven.

3. “Symphony No. 5” – Dmitri Shostakovich

If you’re angry or expressing other strong negative feelings about having to study, this is perfect. Shostakovich wrote this symphony as kind of a sarcastic piece making fun of the USSR and expressing “happiness” under the Stalin regime. Also, this symphony has been featured in a lot of movies.

Anecdote about this piece: One of my favorite memories from my youth orchestra days was when we played the 4th movement of this piece and had to play straight AAAAAAAAAs for 2 and half pages. It was great. And I don’t mean that sarcastically. I’ve never felt so pushed to the limit of my right arm moving back and forth and back and forth and back in forth in my life. I loved it.

4. “Fanfare for the Common Man” – Aaron Copland

Ugh. So good. Just listen to it when you need inspiration to study, or when you’re winding down after a late night of studying. You’ll just feel so wonderful.

5. “Raging Fire” – Phillip Phillips

If you’re angry and don’t want to listen to Shostakovich, Phillip Phillips might just do the trick with his new single. You’ll feel the raging fire since you’re so angry about studying for stupid finals.

6. “Don’t Stop Believin'” – Journey

Your classic inspirational song to keep you through studying. I definitely listen to it when I feel disheartened about an exam. Or the week in general.

7. “300 Violin Orchestra” – Jorge Quintero

You want to kill finals? This is the song for you. There are no lyrics. Just some powerful hypnotic head-banging beats yo.

8. “Sing” – Ed Sheeran

Best song to have a mini dance session to relieve stress of studying. Not to mention, Ed Sheeran has a lot of great songs. I listen to him a lot when I write papers.

9.  “Odds Are” – Barenaked Ladies

This is the best song to listen to while studying for your most feared final. Nothing is better than completely understanding the chorus lyrics: “The odds are that we will probably be all right.”

 

Celebration:

10. “Forever Summer” – Anuhea & Justin Young

I first heard this when I was in Hawaii last summer. It’s the best feel good song that makes you so blissfully happy that summer has arrived in all its glory.

11. “Play Hard” – David Guetta feat. Ne-Yo and Akon

You worked hard. So therefore you play hard. Rage.

 

Just because:

12. “Science & Faith” – The Script

I listen to this song a lot. Ask my roommate.

13. “Not a Bad Thing” – Justin Timberlake

Best. Song. Ever. Seriously. Ever. JT4lyfe

Enjoy the beautiful flowers, grass, breeze, and sunshine as much as this baby elephant!

HAPPY SUMMER!

Leave a Reply

